${site.data.firmName}${SEMFirmNameAlt}
Contact us today 770-744-1111 will call back
within 24 hours
Menu Contact
NOT JUST A LAW FIRM … A SOLUTION

Understanding drunk driving laws in Georgia

During holiday weekends, accidents involving alcohol seem to be a tragic inevitability. Driving while inebriated is always extremely dangerous, both to the driver and also to other motorists on the road. There could be times, however, that drivers in Georgia may find themselves facing charges of drunk driving. The following information represents a basic understanding of the laws in the state of Georgia.

Georgia has recently been noted as one of the strictest states with regard to driving under the influence. The blood alcohol content of drivers cannot exceed .08 percent before they are considered impaired. For minors under the age of 21, the maximum BAC limit is .02 percent. Even with a first offense, drivers could lose their license for a year, and be required to completed 40 hours of community service. There are also stiff financial penalties that could be levied if found guilty.

Drivers that have a BAC of .15 percent can incur enhanced or "aggravated" penalties.  In addition to monetary and other penalties, all who are convicted of driving under the influence are required to attend an alcohol assessment meeting, and several hours of alcohol education programs which typically require several days and hours away from work. With repeat offenders, penalties may include the installation of an ignition interlock device and other preventative measures.

Many in Georgia facing an arrest for drunk driving could find assistance in speaking with a criminal law attorney. There are many hidden expenses associated with a DUI charge that an attorney can help mitigate. Speaking with an attorney can help determine the best course of legal action.

Source: FindLaw, "Georgia DUI Laws", Accessed on Sept. 8, 2016

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
EMAIL US FOR A RESPONSE

Contact Us today! We promise to call back within 24 hours.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Miles Hansford & Tallant, LLC
202 Tribble Gap Road
Suite 200
Cumming, GA 30040

Phone: 770-744-1111
Fax: 770-781-9191
Map & Directions

Address